SWLE Forum Index
FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Register  Log in  Album  Download

Previous topic :: Next topic
FutureRP Links
Author Message
Heroin 
Gamer

Age: 27
Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: United States
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:18 am   FutureRP Links

I was wondering if it's possible to add a note at the bottom of the FutureRP links, telling the clicker to complete the simple captcha in order to give the player exp. I just joined recently, about 15 or so days ago, I'm up to about 700 or more clicks a day. Out of those clicks I only have <300 confirmed clicks in FutureRP. It's a very simple captcha, so I was hoping someone would be able to add a note to it.

I do currently boast 2 links on my page, Dragoncave and FutureRP. So you can't exactly tell how many aren't clicking. But before I added the Dragoncave link, I was still getting around 400-500 clicks. Less than 300 confirmed on FutureRP.
Thank you for your time.
 
     
thepossum1 
Gamer God


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 241
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:42 pm   

Sorry, Heroin, but I guess I'm one of those that isn't doing it-----do you have to scroll down or something? I don't remember even seeing a captcha on those links :(

Apologies to any others who have that game link since I didn't do yours right either.


I'll make the effort to look harder next time I click those links :)
 
     
Heroin 
Gamer

Age: 27
Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: United States
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:02 pm   

Sometimes on the FutureRP links there isn't a captcha. When there is, you don't have to scroll or anything. It tells you that you have been captured by *Player*, and right under is the captcha.
 
     
thepossum1 
Gamer God


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 241
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:27 am   

ok, thanks--I copied your link from your profile and pasted into a new tab--no captcha. I don't remember ever seeing one on any of the FutureRP links I've ever clicked, but rest assured--if there's a captcha , I'll complete it :)
 
     
DemonicJ 
Site Admin
The Mob Emperor


Helped: 9 times
Age: 48
Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 1541
Location: Australia
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:27 am   

I agree with possum, I have yet to see a captcha on FRP links. If I do ill convert them to action links
_________________
Do it Legit. You break the rules, don't expect a pleasant outcome

“You are not entitled to your opinion. You are entitled to your informed opinion. No one is entitled to be ignorant.”

Proudly the Emperor of The MOB. The oldest surviving & most successful large dynasty
 
     
Heroin 
Gamer

Age: 27
Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: United States
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:33 am   

It's not 100% of the time. If you don't do this you don't give them anything.

Proof in attachment.

I really have no clue how you can not see this, I get it every 2 or so FRP links I click.

captcha FRP.jpg
27 Time(s) 159.97 KB

 
     
Alba 
Gamer God
Dark Side Empress


Age: 51
Joined: 30 May 2008
Posts: 524
Location: Spain
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:01 pm   

First time that I see this link like that :shock:

It is how i see them:



_________________

 
     
Heroin 
Gamer

Age: 27
Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: United States
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:00 pm   

I don't know that is strange. It has nothing to do with me being logged into FutureRP when I click them, because I have seen it when not logged in. It is possible that it's a way to slow you down from clicking secret links, but there is also a 2 minute wait time before you can click another link. I can ask CyberKilla (FRP creator) why this is.
 
     
cyberkilla 
Gamer

Helped: 1
Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:36 pm   

This link exchange is actually white-listed; you shouldn't see the CAPTCHA image at all whilst clicking links via this site :smile:
_________________
FutureRP Creator
 
     
Heroin 
Gamer

Age: 27
Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: United States
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:59 pm   

Still doesn't explain why I get more clicks on Yarolds, than on FRP. But if you're not seeing it, no reason to worry about it. Sorry for wasting your time.
Last edited by Heroin on Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:56 pm; edited 1 time in total  
 
     
cyberkilla 
Gamer

Helped: 1
Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:20 pm   

Heroin wrote:
Still doesn't explain why I get more clicks on Yarolds, than on FRP. But if you're not seeing it, no reason to worry about it. Sorry for wasting your time.


It appears to be a Chrome-specific bug with regards to opening new tabs. It'll be fixed in Chrome eventually, because it's behaving differently to every other browser. The issue manifests itself in different ways on thousands of websites. In our case, it just trips the CAPTCHA. Almost nobody here will have the issue. If you do, try opening links with your left mouse button, instead of pressing the middle mouse button.

The links on this exchange open in a new tab anyway, so there's no need to use the middle mouse button (which is the cause if the issue in Chrome).
_________________
FutureRP Creator
 
     
Alba 
Gamer God
Dark Side Empress


Age: 51
Joined: 30 May 2008
Posts: 524
Location: Spain
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:27 pm   

Heroin wrote:
Sorry for wasting your time.


Don't need be sorry, no one wastes time by trying help others ;)
_________________

 
     
MoonWolf 
Gamer

Age: 37
Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Poland
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:24 pm   

I just wanted to point out that I also see the captcha, in FF. Up untill few weeks ago I always seen the captcha, now it's only sometimes, but still happens.

Yes, if I can't read it, I don't click it, I have bad eyes. On a good day I click though :wink:
 
     
Heroin 
Gamer

Age: 27
Joined: 04 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: United States
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:39 pm   

This is no longer an issue. CK has removed the captcha :mrgreen:
 
     
MoonWolf 
Gamer

Age: 37
Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Poland
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 4:17 pm   



Here, at the bottom right corner you can see the time and date. Time is same as server, and if someone doesn't believe that 'luty' means 'February' I'm sure google translator or any online dictionary can handle that much, the language to look for is Polish. :wink:

So obviousl it doesn't always work, that might be why some clicks don't count, I might not be the only one still seeing captcha. Mind you some days it's not there, but others it is like that.
 
     
cyberkilla 
Gamer

Helped: 1
Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:41 pm   

We had a lot of trouble a few weeks ago from several individuals, which prompted me to tighten up security a bit. As you've no doubt guessed, they were trying to automate link clicking, using lists of proxy IPs.

The vast majority of people here shouldn't see the CAPTCHA image. If you're seeing it every time you click a FutureRP link, perhaps you're using a browser addon which modifies your HTTP request headers; the game may get suspicious and show the CAPTCHA image in such cases.

I will see what can be done from my end to minimise these incidents.
_________________
FutureRP Creator
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group
Akagahara style created by Nash modified v0.8 by warna